"Is the UK closing its doors to Bangladeshi students?" Since late 2025, families in Dhaka, Sylhet and Chattogram have asked us this almost every week. Headlines about universities "halting" or "suspending" admissions travel fast on Facebook and WhatsApp. Some are accurate. Some are rumours.
This article separates the two. It lists only the UK universities whose pause or restriction we could trace to the university itself or to a reputable news outlet, with the date and the source. It explains why this is happening, and what it means if you plan to apply for January or September 2027.
What's happening and why
The university's own "report card"
Every UK university that sponsors international students must pass a yearly Basic Compliance Assessment (BCA) from the Home Office. Think of it as a report card with three marks:
- Visa refusal rate: of the students the university gave a CAS to, how many were refused a visa.
- Enrolment rate: how many students who got visas actually turned up and enrolled.
- Completion rate: how many finished their course.
The Home Office's student sponsor compliance guidance sets the pass marks. For assessments applied for from 1 June 2026, a university needs a refusal rate under 5% (it was under 10%), an enrolment rate of at least 95% (it was 90%) and a completion rate of at least 85%, rising to 90% from 1 June 2027. These changes were first proposed in the government's Immigration White Paper of May 2025.
There is now also a Red-Amber-Green (RAG) rating. Under the guidance, a refusal rate of 4% or more is already amber, and 5% or more is red. A red rating can mean an action plan, a cut in how many CAS the university can issue, and, in serious cases, losing its licence to sponsor international students. The government said on 4 June 2026 that these ratings will be made public.
One point causes confusion. News reports in December 2025 said the 5% rule started "in September" 2025. The official guidance applies it to assessments from 1 June 2026. Because each assessment looks back over the previous 12 months, many universities started changing their recruitment in 2025.
Why Bangladesh is affected
The guidance itself does not treat any nationality differently. The issue is the numbers. According to the Financial Times, as reported by The Daily Star on 5 December 2025, the UK study visa refusal rate for Bangladeshi applicants was 22% in the year to September 2025. The British Council, analysing Home Office data published on 27 August 2026, puts it at 28.3% for January–March 2026 and 26.5% for April–June 2026.
When one country's refusal rate is five times the pass mark, a university with many applicants from that country can fail its whole assessment, which affects students from every country. That is the reason most universities give.
Asylum claims are the other part of the story. Times Higher Education reported in November 2025, using Home Office figures, that about 14,200 people who came on student visas claimed asylum in the year to September 2025, and that 12% of them were Bangladeshi. The government has said the student route "must not be used as a backdoor to asylum".
The universities: what each one did
These are the universities we could confirm. We quote the wording each source used: "paused", "suspended" or "stopped". "Latest status" is what we found by 2 October 2026; "no update found" does not mean the pause still applies or has ended.
| University | What changed | Levels / intakes | Date reported | Latest status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| London Metropolitan University | Withdrew from Bangladesh; stopped recruiting and withdrew CASs already issued | All levels | July 2025 | No reversal found | The PIE News, 25 Jul 2025 |
| University of Wolverhampton | No longer accepting undergraduate applicants from Bangladesh (and Pakistan) | Undergraduate | December 2025 | No update found | FT via The Daily Star, 5 Dec 2025 |
| University of Sunderland | Suspended recruitment from Bangladesh (and Pakistan) | Not stated | December 2025 | No update found | FT via TBS, 4 Dec 2025 |
| Coventry University | Suspended recruitment from Bangladesh (and Pakistan) | Not stated | December 2025 | No update found | FT via TBS, 4 Dec 2025 |
| University of Hertfordshire | Suspended recruitment from Bangladesh (and Pakistan) until September 2026, citing visa processing times | Not stated | December 2025 | Its application page lists Bangladesh among countries it is currently unable to process | FT via TBS, 4 Dec 2025; Hertfordshire: Make an application |
| Oxford Brookes University | Paused January 2026 undergraduate recruitment; for September 2026 paused sponsorship for some programmes and for Sylhet applicants | Sept 2026: foundation, Pre-Masters, postgraduate Business, and all Sylhet applicants | December 2025; Sept 2026 agent notice | Partial restriction; other routes open with extra checks | FT via TBS, 4 Dec 2025; Oxford Brookes agent notice |
| University of Derby | Paused recruitment from Bangladesh and Pakistan; existing CAS holders could continue, other applications cancelled with refunds | All levels, until at least autumn 2026 | March 2026 | No update found | The PIE News, 10 Mar 2026 |
A few details matter.
- London Met said Bangladesh accounted for 60–65% of its visa refusals, according to its deputy vice-chancellor speaking to The PIE News in July 2025.
- Sunderland told reporters it makes "no apologies" for a firm approach to protect the visa system, according to TBS.
- Oxford Brookes is the clearest example of a partial restriction. Its agent notice for September 2026 entry pauses sponsorship for Bangladeshi applicants to foundation, Pre-Masters and postgraduate Business courses, and for all applicants from Sylhet. For other Bangladeshi applicants it set earlier offer and CAS deadlines, a higher pre-CAS interview score, a seven-day limit to show you have applied for your visa, and a top-up deposit before CAS.
- Derby said: "As visa refusal rates for Pakistan and Bangladesh are far above the new threshold, we have made the difficult decision to pause recruitment", according to The PIE News. University World News called it a "temporary hold".
What we left out, and why
- University of East London and BPP University. Prothom Alo (5 December 2025) listed them, but other summaries of the same Financial Times report say their limits applied mainly to Pakistan. The reports conflict, so we have not listed them.
- University of Chester paused recruitment from Pakistan, not Bangladesh, according to the same reports.
- Glasgow Caledonian University paused recruitment to certain courses at risk under the new rules, not to any country, according to The PIE News (July 2025).
- A longer list from September 2026. A list of about 30 universities, including restrictions on applicants from Sylhet, has been shared widely in Bangladesh. It says these universities "reportedly" acted, and we could not find statements from the universities. One example of why care is needed: the University of Bedfordshire's own Bangladesh page shows no restriction, although the list says it accepts Dhaka applicants only. Until a university confirms it, treat such lists as unconfirmed.
What it means for you
This is not a UK ban on Bangladeshi students. The UK government has not stopped Student visas for Bangladeshi nationals. Its visa brake, in force since 26 March 2026, applies to Afghanistan, Cameroon, Myanmar and Sudan only. We found no public Bangladesh-specific pause at most UK universities, and many still recruit in Bangladesh and list local agents and scholarships on their country pages.
What has changed is how carefully universities check you. Expect earlier deadlines, interviews, larger deposits and closer checks on your money and documents. Some universities also look closely at applicants from particular regions or for particular courses.
Take two examples. Nusrat finished her BBA in Dhaka with a 3.4 CGPA and wants an MSc in Marketing. Her first-choice university has paused postgraduate Business applicants from Bangladesh for this intake. That is a problem with that university's list, not with Nusrat. She can apply to other universities with the same course, or look at a related course that fits her career plan.
Tanvir, from Sylhet, wants a BSc in Computer Science. Two universities on his shortlist currently restrict Sylhet applicants. He emails each international office, gets written answers, and moves his applications to universities that confirm they can consider him. He also applies to one university in another country as a backup.
How to check a university before you apply
- Email the international office and ask: "Are you currently accepting applications from Bangladesh for [course] in [intake]? Are there any restrictions by level, course or region?" Keep the reply.
- Read the course page and the university's Bangladesh country page. Look for notices about deadlines, deposits or interviews.
- Ask about the CAS timeline. When is the last date to issue a CAS for your intake? Some universities now stop issuing CAS weeks before the course starts.
- Ask about refunds. If the university pauses recruitment after you pay a deposit, what happens? Derby, for example, refunded deposits in March 2026. Get the refund policy in writing.
- Keep one or two backups, in the UK or another country. Our country comparison tool can help you weigh the options.
Apply safely: a step-by-step plan
- 1Before you shortlistStart with your career
Choose courses that clearly build on your past study or work. A course that fits your story is the strongest answer in any interview.
- 2Before you applyConfirm the university is open to you
Get written confirmation for your level, course, intake and home district. Check again before you pay a deposit.
- 3After your offerPrepare for the credibility interview
Many universities interview before issuing a CAS, and UKVI can interview too. Explain your course, modules, funding and plans in your own words. See our interview guide.
- 4Before the CASPay the deposit only with clear terms
Deposit amounts and refund rules are set by each university. Read them, and pay only through the university's official payment channels.
- 5At least 28 days before you applyHold your funds correctly
Keep the full amount for 28 consecutive days, ending within 31 days of your visa application. See our proof of funds guide.
- 6When you applyUse only honest documents
Every certificate, bank statement and letter must be genuine and consistent. One false document can mean a refusal and a ban from future UK applications.
- 7After the CASApply for your visa quickly
Some universities now give you only days to show you have applied. You must apply within 6 months of getting your CAS, and no earlier than 6 months before your course starts.
Where to go next
The UK is still a strong choice for many Bangladeshi students, as long as you plan for the stricter checks. Read our UK 2026–27 guide for visa costs, funds and timelines, see the UK destination page, and work through the UK document checklist. If you want to keep your options open, compare other countries side by side for your career.
- Home Office: Student sponsor compliance (version 06/2026) ↗
- Home Office: Immigration White Paper (May 2025) ↗
- GOV.UK: Universities face ban on international students over visa abuse (4 Jun 2026) ↗
- GOV.UK: Visa brake imposed on 4 countries (4 Mar 2026) ↗
- Home Office: Immigration system statistics, year ending June 2026 ↗
- British Council: Decline in UK student visas issued in the first half of 2026 (Sep 2026) ↗
- UKCISA: Tightened BCA metrics and new RAG rating now live (1 Jun 2026) ↗
- The PIE News: London Met withdraws from Bangladesh (25 Jul 2025) ↗
- The PIE News: Glasgow Caledonian pauses recruitment to BCA-risk courses (Jul 2025) ↗
- The Daily Star: Several UK universities close door on Bangladeshi and Pakistani students: FT (5 Dec 2025) ↗
- The Business Standard: Why are UK universities restricting recruitment of Bangladeshi, Pakistani students? (4 Dec 2025) ↗
- Prothom Alo: UK universities halt, suspend admissions of Bangladeshi and Pakistani students (5 Dec 2025) ↗
- Times Higher Education: Almost 15,000 UK asylum claims from students (Nov 2025) ↗
- The PIE News: Derby suspends Pakistan and Bangladesh recruitment (10 Mar 2026) ↗
- University World News: University of Derby pauses recruitment from two countries (14 Mar 2026) ↗
- Oxford Brookes University: Application to enrolment (agents, September 2026 entry) ↗
- University of Hertfordshire: Make an application ↗
- University of Bedfordshire: Bangladesh ↗
- GOV.UK: Student visa – money you need ↗
- GOV.UK: Student visa – your course and CAS ↗
Choose your career and what matters to you. See each country rated on jobs, visa odds, cost, family and safety, with sources.